31. Bike to Confederation Park

My laziness has officially kicked in.

Not to the point where I have given up completely on this blog, but I am finding it more challenging to get myself to create new posts. Anyways, here I am because I finished another bucket list item on Sunday night. My friends Olivia and Julia were going to bike to confederation park with me, which is a trail by Lake Ontario that, in my opinion, has lost a large amount of its visitors over the years. Before we were supposed to leave, Olivia suddenly couldn’t go. Julia and I met up to go to the park as we had decided it would be better to go another day. We met up and decided it would be an adventure to go to confederation park anyways! We had to bike over an overpass, follow a trail, go down a residential street, and finally enter a gate to the official end of the trail. For me, it was a giant accomplishment to just make it over the overpass! I knew I wasn’t ever too fond of heights, but as we were biking on a narrow sidewalk beside the low rail over the QEW, the terror inside forced me to clutch the handlebars of my bike as if I had somehow already fallen over the side, clutching the rails of the overpass with my life on the line. When we got over to the other side, we were so relieved. It was the biggest accomplishment of the entire excursion. We got to the gates of the park and effortlessly rode along the trail. We passed a party with music and people eating and dancing and I realized that a lot of people still enjoy the trail. We stopped for ice cream but we wanted to get home before sunset so we ditched the long line and headed home.

We knew we didn’t have much time left but we just had to keep stopping to take pictures with the wooden carvings along the trail and of the sunset, which I might add was the most beautiful sunset I had ever seen in my entire life. The lights were starting to turn on along the bridge in the distance and around the cities near Toronto. The sky was a bright orange or coral near the horizon, it was magenta around the sun, and the clouds slowly transitioned from that bright pink to a lavender and finally to a pale blue. It was absolutely perfect! Unfortunately, I couldn’t capture the beauty of the sunset with my phone’s camera, we could only look at the sunset and appreciate it for the few moments that we could. We finally went off over the overpass again, but that time, I stayed on the side with the higher railing and it turned out to be not so bad. After the overpass, we met a flock of geese just chilling on the road which, luckily for us, infrequently saw cars passing through. As we got closer to the geese, they started making more sounds and flew away. So we continued on our way home but stopped at a corner store planning to buy the weirdest thing we could buy for a dollar. We left the store empty-handed because Stoney Creek is just not the interesting at all. By the time I got home, it was dark outside and not a time for a young girl to be roaming around but I can happily say that Julia and I are alive and well and we had an awesome adventure. An adventure which I might be doing again tomorrow with some other friends but only if the weather permits it. For now, enjoy these photos of us at the trail on a day which was cloudy but turned out to produce the most stunning sunset ever! Note that I did edit a few photos just to improve the colours to even slightly resemble what we saw.

We got there!

Still cloudy when we got there

Me, my helmet, et la tortue

Me, my helmet, et la tortue

2013-08-11 19.17.01 2013-08-11 19.48.09 2013-08-11 19.51.02

Julia and I :)

Julia and I 🙂

2013-08-11 19.58.23 2013-08-11 20.06.11 2013-08-11 20.08.17 2013-08-11 20.25.59 2013-08-11 20.27.39(1) 2013-08-11 20.28.02 2013-08-11 20.27.39 2013-08-11 20.28.38 2013-08-11 20.31.04

Leave a Reply

