18. Go to Sleep Before 12

I have not gone to sleep before 12 in over a year or two. It was a serious challenge for me to do this. It makes me feel like I’m wasting a lot of time to do stuff that I want to do. I now realize that having more sleep will help me focus in school and to feel healthier. I really want to change this school year and not go to sleep so late. I’m tired at school and can’t focus in class. I stay after school everyday or I’ll have something later in the day I need to go to. I’ll have naps right when I get home. I started drinking coffee in grade 10, especially on days where I knew I’d be up late. It was not uncommon for me to go to sleep around 4 am. I even went to sleep at 5 am a few times. I’d wake up after 7 am and go back to school at 8. Oh, and I was always late for class first period. Now, is that the way you want to live? I never even got to hangout with my friends. Christmas and March break were the best for me. I always planned a sleepover with my friends over the break because those were the only times I’d get to spend quality time with my friends during the entire year.

I have so much hope for this year! My courses are much harder and my grades must be super high if I want to get into health sciences. People always tell me that it’ll be tough, but they don’t know what goes on in my mind. Nor would they ever want to really. I am so determined to do well this year. My top priorities are school and sleep. Those two are so closely related and so I’m trying so hard to get in the habit of sleeping earlier. I did go to bed at 11:30 am a few nights ago and that’s good enough for me! I can’t say that I will achieve my “Wake up before 7 for a week” goal though because I now realize I have one day left of August, but I am waking up around that time anyways. I started exercising before the summer started and that’s made me feel so much better physically and mentally. I hope to drop a few extra curriculars so I can focus on sleeping earlier and I want to join cross country. I want to wake up early enough to jog in the morning and I have so many other wishes for this new year. Half this stuff might never happen but who knows? Maybe it’s finally time that Maggie will change her old habits and renew herself. I’m half-way through my highschool career. Why carelessly sleep through it when I can make the best of it?

P.S. To my number one fan, best friend, and fellow over-achiever, you can do it too! I know that you work so hard to balance school and your passion of art. I know my sleeping patterns have been transferring over to you, but it’s time we change that and get healthier so we can enjoy the things we love even more.

Leave a Reply

